2022 GOAL and Rick Perkins Award Winners Chosen for Coastal Pines Technical College

Posted on

2022 GOAL and Rick Perkins Award Winners Chosen for Coastal Pines Technical College

Congratulations are in order for the 2022 GOAL and Rick Perkins Award winners for Coastal Pines Technical College (CPTC).

Ashley Dowling, a resident of Long County, was selected as the 2022 GOAL (Georgia’s Occupational Award of Leadership) Winner for Coastal Pines Technical College. The Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership (GOAL) is a program of the TCSG that recognizes and pays respect to the outstanding students in our colleges. Ashley is a student in the Practical Nursing program on the Baxley campus and will graduate in August. After graduating from CPTC, Ashley plans to become an air evacuation nurse and to start a childcare business. In her spare time, Ashley loves to read, ride bikes and crochet. Ashley will advance to compete at the Southern Region competition on March 2nd in Tifton.

The 2022 Rick Perkins Instructor of the Year for Coastal Pines Technical College is John Kennedy. The Rick Perkins Award for Excellence in Technical Instruction honors technical education’s most outstanding instructors. The award has been an ongoing statewide event since 1991 and is designed to recognize technical college instructors who make significant contributions to technical education through innovation and leadership in their fields. John, a resident of Camden County, is the Lead Instructor of the Electrical Lineworker program on the Waycross campus at Coastal Pines Technical College. John has been employed with CPTC since 2017. Prior to Coastal Pines, John worked with Georgia Power as a Distribution Supervisor for 40 years. John will also advance in regional competition at Southern Regional Technical College in Tifton on March 2nd.

The announcement of the top 9 regional winners for the GOAL student and the RPA Instructor will be made at the State Competition, Conference & Awards Banquet which is in Atlanta on April 24th-28th. These regional winners will compete for the state title and the overall winner for both GOAL and RPA will be announced and celebrated.


News   Press Release